Hoshiarpur and Kapurthala Districts Declared “Smoke Free”

Chandigarh: The Punjab government on Saturday declared Hoshiarpur and Kapurthala as “smoke-free” districts in the state.


While informing this, state Health Minister Madan Mohan Mittal said “a study conducted by PGIMER found the absence of active smoking in more than 96.4 per cent of public places in Kapurthala and 91.3 per cent in Hoshiarpur districts.”

The PGIMER was entrusted with the task of conducting a compliance survey and opinion poll to verify the compliance of Cigarettes & Other Tobacco Products Act, 2003.

“This study has paved the way for officially declaring Hoshiarpur and Kapurthala districts ‘smoke-free’ in Punjab,” Mittal said.

Vini Mahajan, Principal Secretary, Health & Family Welfare, who was also present on the occasion, said Ferozepur, Fazilka, Faridkot, Tarn Taran and Jalandhar districts will be declared “smoke-free” in the next phase.

Ashok Nayyar, Director Health Services, Punjab said earlier Ajitgarh, Mansa, Amritsar, Roopnagar, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar, Fatehgarh Sahib, Gurdaspur, Sangrur, Bathinda and Sri Muktsar Sahib districts had been already declared as “smoke-free”.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.