Aam Aadmi Party leader Harvinder Singh Phoolka, who won the Punjab assembly seat from Dakha, has been chosen as the leader of opposition in the 15th Vidhan Sabha. Sukhpal Singh Khaira, state legislator from Bholath, will be the party’s chief whip.

The two leaders were chosen by the AAP’s elected MLAs who met at New Delhi on Wednesday morning in the presence of party convener and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal. With 20 seats, the AAP has emerged as the principal opposition party with its alliance partner Lok Insaaf Party that has two seats, ahead of the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party alliance that has 18 MLAs in the newly elected House.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.